R. Ravimohan – A Tribute

Posted on Updated on


I was next on stage.

Quite nervous to collect my CCAP certificate, I rushed to the stage, somehow grabbed my certificate and was quite ready to run off the stage. Before I could realize, he gently held my hand and said, “Don’t you want to take a photograph with me?” In the most caring way, he quickly adjusted my tie and said (jokingly), “After all this is over, I will take your autograph. And, by the way, nice suit.” I never thought that would be my last conversation with Mr. Ravimohan. On December 28, 2009, while taking his evening walk on Marine Drive, Mr. Ravimohan suffered a cardiac arrest and died. He was 52.

Mr. Ravimohan will be remembered as a great leader, a man who transformed CRISIL into a truly global company. Every CCAPian, however, will remember him as a visionary, who had the audacity and confidence to pick a bunch of graduates and nurture them into fine financial analysts.

On June 4, 2007, at the CCAP inaugural function, Mr. Ravimohan said: “Today, I see a bright and enthusiastic bunch of people, who will become world-class finance professionals two years hence.” I sat in the audience wondering how could he be so confident, when deep inside, the thought of being able to survive even a day in the country’s best credit rating agency scared me to death. After two and a half years, I realize that he had the forethought of seeing things that are invisible to most. Our interaction with Mr. Ravimohan might have been limited, but each instance had learning.

In his speech at the CCAP convocation ‘09, he said: “Two years ago, each one of you was like wet clay; now you all are through challenges, modeled, tested, ready…”

It is our great misfortune that those hands, which shaped a career for each one of us, are gone, but he has left his thumbprint on each of us. Forever.

Anirban Chowdhury

___________

Leave a Reply

